Sweet Home Santiago

I have about 36 days left here. There are 13 days left until my last day of classes. 11 of my final days will be spent hiking in Torres del Paine/exploring Chiloe.  It all seems to be ending so soon and I really don’t like it.

Something changed in me this weekend.  Before I went to Buenos Aires I felt like I was lying to myself saying that I would miss being here.  Not that I wanted to leave, but I felt like I would miss the traveling and the excitement of doing things like parachuting, ziplining, and horseback riding.  But that isn’t the case anymore.  Obviously I will miss those things, but more than that I will really miss simply living here.  I was sitting in class today, talking about the different dictatorships in Latin America in the 1970s and about the press under Pinochet in Chile and it just sort of hit me.  This is all going to be over soon.  I wont be in this class of 5 people learning this sort of history.  I wont be living in this amazing city.  I may never see a lot of the people I have met here ever again.

I’m thinking what triggered this was my trip to Buenos Aires (which I’ll write about in another post).  It was an absolutely amazing weekend.  I loved the city and did a lot of sightseeing and shopping an just hanging out with friends, but there was a sort of weird part to it.  It was like being in an alternate reality.  I could have studied in Buenos Aires, so the entire time I was trying to picture how things would have been if I had decided to do so.  Before I went a lot of people were telling me that I was going to go and think that I should have chosen Buenos Aires over Santiago.  Even though I was absolutely in love with the city and could see myself living there at some point, I couldn’t really imagine having my study abroad experience there.

There was nothing wrong with the city (ok besides how dirty it was) or the people (except for that guy who pinched me on the street) but it just wasn’t doing it for me.  I was gone for four days and I missed Santiago and the Chilean people immensely.  When we finally made it back to Santiago and were waiting in the line at customs Ariel and I were so relieved and happy to be hearing Chilean accents and sayings.  Never have the words “Sipo weón” sounded so beautiful to my ears.

I am not ready to leave Chile.  And it isn’t just because I don’t want the excitement to be over.  It is because I have truly fallen head over heels in love with this country and its culture and people.  If this weekend is any indication of how things are going to go in December then…estoy cagada.

